Audiobook, Romantic Suspense

Sudden Death by Allison Brennan

Sudden Death

The Lucy Kincaid series was selected as a group read in one of my Goodreads groups and we determined, because of character crossovers, we needed to first read her earlier series in publication order.

FBI Special Agent Megan Elliott is called in to the scene of a brutal murder by the Sacramento Police Detective John Black when he determines that it fits the pattern of three previous murders on an FBI hot sheet. Megan finds a dog tag on the victim identifying him as a veteran, an important lead that eventually takes her to Hildago, Texas, the site of the next similar murder. That victim was the best friend and teammate of Jack Kincaid, a former Army Ranger now heading a small mercenary group focused on rescue missions and foreign hostage situations. Jack joins Megan and her other team members to investigate the murders and stop what appears to be the work of a pair of serial killers.

We get the points of view of the killers early on but only see them in action with limited information as to their motives and true identities. This worked well for me as I had to rely on the investigation to provide the clues to deduce the answers. I was never ahead of the investigators despite having the additional insight, which made this an even more intriguing story. It was often frustrating, in a good way, because I couldn’t figure things out for quite some time. It’s a great example of how to provide the dual narratives without giving away the mystery.

I enjoyed this story, a lot, and am so glad I was able to listen to the story. The narrator delivered a strong performance, pacing the story perfectly, though there wasn’t much in terms of character distinction. That didn’t matter as I was never confused as to who was talking or delivering the point of view. Megan and Jack made a good team, even though their romance seemed to come out of nowhere. As with her earlier books, the romance is the weak part of the story but it didn’t detract from my engagement. I was pleased to finally learn why Jack was estranged from his family and get updates about the rest of the Kincaids and there’s a marvelous twist to cap it off. It’s an excellent start to the trilogy.

Book Info

  • Release Date: March 24. 2009
  • Series: FBI Trilogy #1
  • Narrator: Ann Marie Lee
  • Audio Length: 12 hours, 41 minutes
  • Publisher: Random House Audio

Listen to a Sample!


Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

19 thoughts on “Sudden Death by Allison Brennan”

Comment anyone?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s