Audiobook, Romantic Suspense

What I’ve Done by Melinda Leigh @MelindaLeigh1 @CrisDukeheart

What I’ve Done
Haley Powell wakes the morning after a night of clubbing in a bed she doesn’t recognize, covered in blood. She sees a body in the back yard and discovers it’s the man she was with at the club, dead from stab wounds. But, she has no memory of what happened after she came home with him. Haley calls the police and in a daze, utters, “What have I done?” Okay, you can guess what happens next. Her mother, Eliza, reaches out to her old friend Lincoln Sharp for help who then asks Defense Attorney Morgan Dane to take her case.

While the murder investigation takes center stage, there’s a lot of other stuff going on. Morgan is hampered because she’s injured at the beginning of the story in an unrelated event (you’ll want to read that for yourself). Another woman is missing and protestors wreak havoc regarding Haley’s supposed guilt. And, Lincoln’s past relationship with Eliza opens up a whole new past chapter of his past. It’s a lot to ponder and follow, making this a challenging reading experience, in a very good way.

Though there are a ton of viable suspects, including Haley, the investigation moves with clarity and speed. I liked that I could mull over several theories and there weren’t easy solutions. Cris Dukeheart delivered another strong performance, continuing to make the listening experience a really good one. The finale was exciting with a sweet little bonus at the end. Still loving this series!

Book Info

  • Release Date: September 18, 2018
  • Series: Morgan Dane #4
  • Narrator: Cris Dukeheart
  • Audio Length: 9 hours, 48 minutes
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio



Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble |

27 thoughts on “What I’ve Done by Melinda Leigh @MelindaLeigh1 @CrisDukeheart”

  1. Fantastic review. I wanted to get to Melinda’s books. But I have read only her short books. Is this a part of a series or a standalone? I don’t think I have the credits for audio but definitely can read the kindle version.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Shalini💜 This is the 4th book in the series and it’s a spinoff. Highly recommend reading this series from the beginning as there’s a continuing story arc. Each mystery is solved within each book but there’s other stuff going on. This is one where you’ll enjoy either the eBook or the audio as it’s paced well and set up rather nicely for a good narrator.


  2. I really enjoyed this series as well. I know the series is not over yet for you, but I think that is the secret behind Kendra Elliot and Melinda Leigh’s successful series, the stories get better and better, then they end them on a high note and start with new characters. So glad you are enjoying this series. Great review Jo.

    Liked by 1 person

Comment anyone?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s