Audiobook, Romantic Suspense

Fatal Fraud by Marie Force

The new case that Lieutenant Samantha (Sam) Holland and her homicide team of detectives are handed is the murder of a woman who is inarguably the most hated person in the region. The victim, Virginia (Ginny) McLeod, was recently indicted for duping hundreds of investors, mostly friends and family, out of roughly $20 million through an investment Ponzi scheme. That means the list of potential suspects is massive. Meanwhile, Vice President Nick Cappuano, Sam’s husband, is being pressured to make a decision regarding his potential candidacy in the upcoming presidential election.

One of the things I love about this series is the multiple plot lines in play in each story, many of them continuing arcs, which means it’s important to read the books in order. Detective Gonzales (Gonzo) is returning from a successful stint in rehab, hoping to return to his job without too much of a hit to his career. The shocking revelations regarding the shooting of Sam’s father years ago that implicated two well respected leaders within the police force have triggered an internal review thats sure to expose more upsets. Sam is also launching a grief counseling group for families who have lost loved ones to murder. All of these are in process as the detectives do their job in solving Ginny McLeod’s murder. The investigation brings out a range of emotions regarding the need to seek justice for a reprehensible victim.

I enjoyed being back in this world and continue to be glad that I switched to the audio format early in the series. The narrator does a great job handling a host of characters but one of the highlights is the banter between Sam and her partner Freddie Cruz. It’s funny and the barbs can sometimes be sharp but you always feel their affection for one another. The case was interesting and even brought a bit of a surprise in its resolution. I didn’t know this would be the last book in the series but after the shocking ending, it all made sense. I’m also glad I waited until the first book in the new spinoff series was released so I can jump right in. This was a natural conclusion to a series I’ve enjoyed for so long.

Book Info

  • Release Date: October 20, 2020
  • Series: Fatal #16
  • Narrator: Eva Kaminsky
  • Audio Length: 10 hours, 15 minutes
  • Publisher: HTJB, Inc.




Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble |

17 thoughts on “Fatal Fraud by Marie Force”

  1. Yay you are catching up. Terrific review! I have really enjoyed these also. I especially like the one where we learned what happened to Sam’s father. But the first in the next spin-off series is interesting too.

    Anne – Books of My Heart

    Liked by 1 person

Comment anyone?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s